July 17, 2013

  • The last good-bye for……..  Xanga.
    ICQ, MSN, they have all gone away.  Now, I guess, it’s Xanga’s turn.
    Facebook, Whatsapp, Wechat, Weibo, Twitter.  These are what replaced ICQ, MSN, and now Xanga.  Facebook in particular is meant for sharing with friends.  And yes, I do share on Facebook too, photos, check-ins, etc.  But somehow, I am just so much more superficial on Facebook.  A “Like” on a friend’s link doesn’t really mean much, it’s more of a “I’ve read it and it’s interesting”.  To be honest, I (or I guess most of us too) don’t give more than a second’s thought before liking a post.
    But Xanga…  It’s so different.  I think when I write something.  I do feel genuinely happy when only 1 person reads my post.  And I do look forward to reading a Xanga friend’s post, it’s like receiving a letter from a long-time pen-pal!  So yes, as Xanga looks likely to shut down in a few days, I do miss it very much.
    I guess there’s nothing I can do though, short of buying up Xanga.  It isn’t that expensive really, they’re only looking for HK$468,000!?!?!?  But well, unless anyone is willing to partner with me to buy over Xanga (yes, I’m serious!), I guess I’ll have to move someplace else to continue blogging.

    Anyway, to my dear dear dear Xanga friends.  To kelibaby, joannho, gloz_hippo, gar_yin, ladolcevitaaaaa, WanderMe, theotherkene, ayu_u, c_a_r_o_l, Monika_Wai, elaine_so, ILurvePink, barbie0717, miffy_Queen, Chu_Hi, fi_tang, moonshadow_spiritwings, Freak_Dudley, charcobear88, matt288, CY_Samson, ah_jia, junwinnie, Ghotifish, elsalyt, awff7, detective_veemon, laneige_goldi, PiNkiEYuKi, mrs_kuerten, berti, pattyHM_w, baby_cat1000, scratchmeow, melko1214, ah_cat, candyfeehily, maluckyan, lil_star_angel, qyip, iceteamui
    melody_aus, Bugscat, jlau2003, cathykyl, PreTTiie_In_PInK, mulan_mei, Pw_S, RSXBond, ejso888, akatyan_man, AliAs_LiFe, BBbacteria, M0nYa, evil_mei, poisoned_ink, Bored_Perfectionist, cinderellafi, and all those I haven’t named…  
    Hey, it’s been really nice knowing you on Xanga..  and Keep in Touch!  

    I’ll likely be moving my blog over to WordPress (if Xanga does close down), so send me an email (jesseycy@gmail.com) so that I can tell you the new address/ find me on Facebook! 

    Even though Xanga the site may be closing, Xanga in our hearts shall still go on, and I’ll love to keep the a small part of our “Xanga” going.   
    Take care, and see you soon!!!!

Comments (6)

  • Did i miss something? Xanga is closing down? I do share your opinion about a ‘Like’. It doesn’t mean that much.

  • Did i miss something? Xanga is closing down? I do share your opinion about a ‘Like’. It doesn’t mean that much.

  • @Chu_Hi - Yes!!!

    If they don’t raise enough money at the end of the month, they will close down!
    https://xanga.crowdhoster.com/relaunch-xanga
    Do I have you on my email / facebook?  Pop me an email if not!

  • Yes, it’s really sad they are closing it down. I have treated Xanga as a diary and wrote down so much feelings in it so its quite sad. I would like to keep it and re read whenever to reminisce 

    Yes I am blogging elsewhere. Will be emailing you. :)

  • @theotherkene - See you soon at a new place, keep blogging!

  • I seriously didn’t know it’ll be closing until I read your comment. Omfg…… I can’t imagine how long I’ll take to download years of my written thoughts. Has the fundraising officially fail? I’ll still be writing for sure, but it really suck to “start all over”. Thanks for letting me know about this!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories